Wildwoods Organics Shiitake Tofu Veggie Burger

IMG_0612Wildwood Organics has tons of great items. I was excited to try their sproutofu veggie burgers since they boast the “live soy advantage.” Supposedly, they are easier to digest because the soybeans are sprouted. Each Wildwoods Organic Sproutofu Veggie burgers come in a vacuumed package with 2 ready-to-eat patties. The patties are ready to eat, but I nuked it in the microwave for a quick hot meal in the form of a burger (twitpic here). The bowl was pretty oily afterward which was a little disappointing. Not very good shiitake flavor. The patty is a melody of vegetables and sprouted tofu and tasted chewy like real meat. Don’t over cook it or else it will get hard.

The second time around, I got smarter and microwaved it for a shorter period of time with a paper towel on the bottom to soak up some of the excess oil. It came out pretty oily and even more oil came out after I pressed the patty with the paper towel. I ended up just eating the inside of the patty and peeled off the outer layer which left me with pretty much next to nothing to eat. So much oil leads me to think that these veggie burgers are fried. I think it will be much better if they were baked. The shiitake flavor is faint, the texture chewy, but on the oily side.

One patty is 170 calories, 4 WW, 11 grams of fat (1.5 gram saturated), no cholesterol, 240 milligram of sodium, 9 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of dietary fiber, 2 grams of sugar and 10 grams of protein. Despite the not so high fiber and protein content for these kinds of veggie burgers, it was quite filling. Other Sproutofu flavor includes Original & Southwest. I like most of the Wildwood Organics products, but I will have to pass on their tofu burgers because of the oil factor. Tons of Wildwood Organic coupons here.

Authentic – The “True Original”
Made with Only Sprouted Soybeans for Enhanced Nutrition
#1 Selling Fresh Burger in the US – Certified Organic by Oregon Tilth
25% Organic Vegetables – Gluten Free – Easier to Digest


Retails: $3.99 per package @ Whole Foods
My Cost: Free
Calories: 170 per patty
WW: 4

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Silk, Chobani, Zevia, Amazing Grass & Oikos

7 Comments

Filed under Fresh & Easy, Veggie Burger, Whole Foods, WW: 4

7 responses to “Wildwoods Organics Shiitake Tofu Veggie Burger

  1. I’m always weary about trying different veggie burgers (I’m a creature of habit) Not sure I’m liking the oily business. If I want a greasy burger I’ll go to Mickey D’s :)

  2. Yikes that oily business does not sound fun! But I do love a good veggie burger!

  3. I heard from Gliding Calm that those burgers were greasy as well, which is too bad because it sounds like Wildwood has other awesome products!

    Thanks for the coupon link! Wildwood stuff can be pricey!

  4. Those sound good – I wonder if my Grocery store carries them …

  5. I see wildwood products all the time but I’ve never tried them. Their tofu looks good but they are wayyyy too high in calories for me to let myself buy when I know there is 120 calorie a block mori-nu tofu next to it.

  6. Love shiitake but not big on soy. I ate a soy burger once and the aftermath was not good. haha!!

    Hope you had a great weekend.

    ~Justine

  7. Hmm…I think I might eat this in soup, and skim off that floating oiliness?

Leave a Reply

