Kashi Fiery Fiesta Pilaf

hero Kashi had had their 7 Whole Grain Pilaf out for a while, but it was only until recently I had a chance to try the Kashi Fiery Fiesta Pilaf. Other varieties include the Original (no sodium) and the Moroccan Curry. The instant Kashi Pilafs are getting harder and harder to find. I think it is because Kashi is about to discontinue it and my local Whole Foods just dropped them too. The guy told me because it wasn’t selling well enough to keep on the shelves. I think it has something to do with the $2.99 price tag for a mere 2 servings, but for $1.00 I’m all about trying them. The package has some very simple instructions to follow. Simply cut the bag and nuke in the microwave for 60 seconds with 1 tablespoon of water. For safe measure, I nuked it for 2 minutes and skipped the water because I was going to add it into another dish. This is the rice pilaf that I find in some of my beloved Kashi frozen meals. The pilaf is already flavored, but it is not “marinated” in sauce. I bulked it up with some veggies to make my portion look bigger, but with the added ingredients, I was afraid it would make the meal taste bland so I did add some Tasty Bite Tikki Marsala sauce to my whole concoction. Before I added anything into the pilaf, I did do a taste test.

Whole grains you can see with black beans and corn.  Not mushy. Came out dry like what pilaf should be, but I did not add the 1 tablespoon of water as instructed to. Visible whole ingredients like whole grains, wheat berries, brown rice, black beans, corn, and some bay leaves to add flavor. Tasted a little SPICY and a little on the BLAND side. I think it makes a great base for a meal, but I would not eat this alone without adding more ingredients  and spicing it up. The pouch contains mostly grains, minimal corn and black beans. With most canned and pouched foods, sodium is the thing to look out for. Around 400 milligram of sodium for my meal is something I can accept. I made sure I did not salt anything else when I stir fried my vegetables to bulk my meal up. A good item to have around the house. I really like the 7 grams of fiber and 8 grams of protein content in here. It really filled me up. Best eaten when freshly made, because it gets soggy and mushy as a leftover. Twitpic of my creation here. One serving of 1 cup (140 grams) is 210 calories, 4 WW, 5 grams of fat (0.5 gram saturated), no cholesterol, 400 grams of sodium, 40 grams of carbohydrates, 7 grams of dietary fiber, 3 grams of sugar, and 8 grams of protein.

Retails: $2.99 per pouch @ Whole Foods
My Cost: $1.00 on clearance
Calories: 210 per cup
WW: 4

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Vega Sport, SodaStream, Naturally Nutty, Nature’s Path, See’s Candy, Book & Bars, Apple Theme & MixMyGranola

12 Comments

Filed under Fiber, Kashi, Pilaf, Whole Foods, WW: 4

12 responses to “Kashi Fiery Fiesta Pilaf

  1. The stats of the pilaf are great! Too bad it’s bland though, sounds like it would be pretty tasty with tons of flavor. Maybe that’s why it’s being discontinued?

  2. I agree with you on the sodium watch. It’s definitly something to look out for. I’ve seen the Kashi pilaf in the grocery store and contemplated purchasing. But, I’m glad I fought the urge to buy now that I’ve read your review! Thanks for the heads up.

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    I like the name of this mix…. so festival! :D I’ve never tried their pilaf… but their other products are great! so I think this won’t be the exception!

  4. Try the Moroccan Curry while you can, it’s really good!

  5. That’s too bad their dropping the line but they are pretty expensive for what you get. Thanks for the review!!

  6. spicy and bland? I have never had Pilaf but i deff want to try!

  7. Wow, that is pricey for 2 servings! Love the fiery part :D

  8. I’ve always been really hesitant about trying this in fear that was mushy but now that miss skinny plate says it wasn’t, I shall have to trust her and go for it :)!

  9. You got it for so cheap! I think that would be the only way I’d try this. I’m not a big fan of Kashi products. I read a bunch of good reviews on this microwave dinner they had. I think it was some mango rice thing and it was disgusting and cost me $5 or something. Their cereals always hurt my teeth too. Haha.

  10. YUMMY-I love Kashi anything…that looks so good. Wonder if it is in Canada?

  11. Pingback: Tasty Bite Tikka Masala Simmer Sauce « The Skinny Plate

Leave a Reply

