Trader Joe’s Lightly Salted Rice Cakes

Picture 149Trader Joe’s Lightly Salted Rice Cakes are by no means filling or anything substantial, but I do like them because they are low calories and a little something crunchy to munch on. Only 35 calories per rice cake and provides a airy, crunchy base for you to snack off of. They are lightly salted. Usually I add peanut butter and thinly sliced apples on top for a nice afternoon snack or when I am in the mood for something lighter, I use Greek yogurt instead of peanut butter. The rice cakes can hold you toppings while you take a bite into it, but I did notice they started to crumble on me after my first bite. I think it might be because I abused this bag a little too much when carrying it home in my grocery bag. Good thing I eat off of a plate or else it would be quite messy. One serving of 2 cakes (20g) is 70 calories, 1 WW, 0.5 gram of fat, no cholesterol, 80 milligram of sodium, 14 grams of carbohydrates, less than 1 gram of fiber, and 1 gram of protein. Ingredients: whole grain brown rice, sea salt. Two simple ingredients. How perfect is that. Love the no sugar part too. Some rice cakes on the market has fancy flavors like apple cinnamon, caramel drizzle, and stuff like that. I like my rice cakes much more simpler. The package is clear with blue writings all over. Inside you will find 2 separate plastic bags of 7 rice cakes each. Keeps the whole package from going stale on you.


Retails: $1.29 per 5 oz bag @ Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $1.29
Calories: 70 per 2 cakes (20g)
WW: 1

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Vasaline Lotion, Bob’s Red Mills, Crispy Green, WW Chocolates, Healthy Halloween & Simple Joy

17 Comments

Filed under Snacks, Trader Joe's, WW: 1

17 responses to “Trader Joe’s Lightly Salted Rice Cakes

  1. Pam

    I just love TJ’s! Great product reviews…thanks!

  2. Vanilla

    I didn’t care for rice cakes before, until I tried it with diff toppings, like cream cheese and jam, pb, etc.

    But we don’t have TJ’s here :(

  3. mmm I love rice cakes — they’re especially good covered in PB&J :)

  4. That’s great that the rice cakes only have two ingredients! Simple is always good!

    I like your ideas of adding peanut butter, Greek yogurt, or apple slices as toppings – makes it a little more filling and even more nutritious!

  5. wow i love that there are so few ingredients!!! too bad they get all crumbly.

  6. Priyanka

    I love rice cakes with PB or hummus!

  7. I love the idea of eating rice cakes with Greek yogurt. Thanks for the great review! :)

  8. I’ve never tried their snack cakes, but it sounds good, especially adding a little peanut butter!

    I’ll have to check it out.

  9. Once I found sea salt, I haven’t looked back!

    I made my step-son cinnamon chip cookies (he loves all things cinnamon) and before they went into the oven, sprinkled them with a bit of sea salt – best cookies I ever made!

  10. Sometimes clean and simple is the best. Like that it’s brown rice too. Love the TJ stuff- they don’t have one in Omaha yet:( However, last time I was at one in Chicago my friends and I noticed some carrot cake cookie sandwiches – totally not healthy but I’d love to hear if they are good!

    • Yay! My first official product review request from a reader. I will pick up a box next time I’m at TJ’s. You are talking about the ice cream sandwiches, right? I think I’ve seen them before. Fingers crossed I can find them. You know TJ’s likes to discontinue stuff randomly.

  11. I haven’t been to TJ’s for the past month! Haha. I’m going next week though. Need to stop reading your reviews until then. Makes me want to jump in my car and speed to TJ’s.

    I used to live off of Rice Cakes. They’re so versatile! I love plain salted ones and the cheese flavored ones dipped in Trader Joe’s Fat Free Organic Spaghetti Sauce.

  12. I agree that’s a perfect ingredient list! Great when you have the munchies ;)

  13. I LOVE Trader Joe products. I wish we had one where we live.

  14. A lot of people give ricecakes a bad rap, but once you jazz em’ up they become the perfect base snack for more fanciful creations!

Leave a Reply

