Daily Archives: February 10, 2009

Sabra: Roasted Garlic Hummus

sabraI read some where that the Trader Joe Mediterranean Hummus is really similar to Sabra Hummus. Sabra seems to be a very popular brand at grocery stores. I’ve even seen my local Costco carrying some varieties of Sabra hummus. It was on sale around Superbowl Weekend at Albertson and I had a coupon, so I picked it up and had forgotten about it until now. There were so many varieties to choose from and they all look delicious. I’m guessing that the Trader Joe Mediterranean Hummus is most similar to the Sabra Roasted Pine nuts version, but I opted to try out a different flavor instead. Garlic it is. I love garlic, but I feel like it’s a hassle to eat it because you become all stinky and you have to brush your teeth a millions times to get the garlicy breath to go away. I like the packaging, it’s very attractive, especially with the minced garlic in the middle. The way they present it makes it look homemade. The texture is smooth and delicious with bits and pieces of minced garlic for a burst of flavor. I wish it was a little more citrusy. A squirt of lemon juice would make this perfect. It tasted great on my Tandori Naan and fresh veggies. One serving is 70 calories, 2 WW, 6 g of fat, 1 g of fiber, and 1 g of protein. Only 1 gram of protein per serving? I thought hummus is known to be protein packed.

Retail: $3.49 on sale at Albertson
My Cost: $1.99 with coupon
Calories: 70 calories per 2 tbsp (28g)
WW: 2

10 Comments

Filed under Hummus, WW: 2