Daily Archives: July 20, 2009

Kashi Cinnamn Harvest

KashiCinnamonKashi rarely lets me down. Kashi’s Cinnamon Harvest is comfort in a bowl. Mmmm….. very cinnamony and sweet here and there.  The sweetness is from organic evaporated cane juice and the cinnamon speckles are well blended in. Very simple ingredients: Organic whole wheat, organic evaporated cane juice, cinnamon and natural cinnamon flavor. One cup (54g) serving is 190 calories, 3 WW, 1 gram of fat, zero cholesterol, zero sodium, 170 milligram of potassium, 44 grams of carbohydrates, 5 grams of fiber, 9 grams of sugar and 4 gram of protein. I find that these are subtly sweet, which I like, but glancing at the nutritional label, it still have 9 grams of sugar, which is not much different from the 10 grams per 1 cup serving of Kellog’s Frosted Mini-Wheats. A one cup serving has about 32 wheat biscuits (yup, I counted). Makes for a very filling breakfast. When you add milk (I usually don’t), the shredded biscuits soak up the milk and gets soggy pretty fast. I personally like to snack on these (pre-portioned of course) while sipping on water. Expands in my tummy and fills me up like no other cereal. Highlights of this cereal, besides being really delicious, are:

  • USDA certified Organic
  • 47 grams of whole grains
  • High fiber
  • Sodium Free

The bottom of the bag is usually filled with shredded wheat crumbs and I love to pour them over Greek yogurt along with fruits to make for another filling breakfast option. I am known to crush some “wheaties” just so I get more crumbs in the bag. Unlike the Kellog’s Frosted Mini-Wheats where each shredded wheat is coated with white powdery sugar which makes most of the “wheaties” uniformly tasting, the Kashi Cinnamon Harvest have sweet ones, bland ones, very cinnamony ones, and just right ones all blending in the box. Some people may complain that this is due to the fact of lack of quality control. When you eat it in a bowl with milk, it taste all the same, it is only if you snack it one by one that you notice the difference in each “wheatie”. I really don’t mind that each ones does not taste the same. In general, this cereal is delicious and very filling.

Retails: $3.69 @ Target
My Cost: $2.66 on sale
Calories: 190 per 1 cup (54g)
WW: 3

9 Comments

Filed under Cereal, Fiber, Organic, WW: 3