Daily Archives: September 3, 2009

Zen Bakery Apple Cranberry Fiber Mini Cakes

IMG_0422Trader Joe’s  Apple Cranberry fiber mini Cakes or Zen Bakery Apple Cranberry fibercakes, whatever you want to call it, it’s all the same. I’ve tried the Blueberry Fibercakes before and  I was not totally in love with them. I thought they were too dense and not enough blueberry flavor. This time, I picked up the Apple Cranberry flavor and was pleasantly surprised. Did they revise their recipe? The fibercakes are still very dense, but it had more moisture and really tasted more like a muffin. On top of each fiber cake are 2 plump raisin-like cranberries. They taste sour and tart. Inside, there are white fruit pieces that I assume are apples. They taste very sweet, but not much of apple flavor. Also, there are small dried up cranberry pieces in the muffin as well.  I absolutely love putting these inside my Greek yogurt in the morning. The protein in the Greek yogurt along with the whopping 13 grams of fiber makes my breakfast low calories and filling. The package says each cake has 2 grams of sugar in it, but I think it taste sweeter than just 2 grams of sugar. Each fibercake (57g) is only 80 calories, 1 WW, 1.5 grams of fat, zero cholesterol, 180 milligram of sodium, 22 grams of carbohydrates, 13 grams of fiber ( 1 gram soluble, 12 grams insoluble), 2 grams of sugar and 5 grams of protein. Simple ingredients like: wheat bran, white grape juice concentrate, whole wheat flour, apples, cranberries, baking soda (sodium bicarbonate), cinnamon and salt makes these fibercakes a winner in my books. These do not contain preservatives, so they go bad pretty fast. I keep them in the fridge immediately after I return home. There seems to always be condensation that collects on top of the plastic when I refrigerate them, so I wipe the container down daily to avoid my fibercakes going moldy.

Retails: $4.49 per 6 pk @ Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $4.49
Calories: 80 each
WW: 1

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Nutridel & Flax Matters

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Trader Joe's, Vegan, Whole Foods, WW: 1