Daily Archives: September 1, 2009

Kashi 7 Whole Grain Puffs

heroKashi cereals were on sale this past weekend at incredible prices. I tweeted about it (@theskinnyplate),  hope some of you caught the deal. I made out like a bandit with 3 Kashi 7 Whole Grain Puffs, 1 Kashi Honey Sunshine Pillows and 1 Kashi U cereal. The 7 Grain Puffs have 0 sugar and is a blend of hard red winter wheat, long grain brown rice, oats, barley, triticale, rye, buckwheat, all which are whole grain and also sesame seeds. If no sugar is not really your taste, Kashi also has a Honey Puff as well — Kashi 7 Whole Grain Honey Puffs. These puffs reminds me of the Nature’s Path Kamut Puffs, mixed along with the company’s other “puff” cereal varieties. The Kashi puffs are not as big as the Nature’s Path puff cereals and have a couple different shapes and sizes to it. The cereal has a very toasty and nutty flavor to it that I absolutely adore. Since this is a mixed grain cereal, the flavor is more complex and not as uniform as just a single grain cereal such as the Nature’s Path Kamut puffs that I previously got. No sugar in it which is perfectly fine for me. I like to eat these plain as well as bulk up my other higher in calories and sweeter cereals. Makes the perfect summer breakfast when I add them  into my Greek yogurt with some frozen fruits. Who needs movie theater popcorn when your have Kashi 7 Grain Puffs? I like to eat this in a big bowl like popcorn on movie nights. Don’t need any salt and butter to cover up the blandness [in popcorn] when I can enjoy a big bowl of whole grains puffs that has such a nice nutty flavor to them.  The texture is similar to a rice cake with each “puff” separated and bagged. A one cup serving (19 grams), 1 WW, 70 calories, 0.5 gram of fat, zero cholesterol, zero sodium, 60 grams of potassium, 15 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of dietary fiber, 0 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein. Taste-wise, I prefer the Kashi Whole Grain puffs because it offers a more complex flavor, but I would not get these at retail price since the Arrowheadmills Puff cereals (6oz) runs for about $1.69, Nature’s Path Puff cereals (6 oz) $1.99, whereas the Kashi 7 Grain Puffs (7.5 oz) runs for a little under $3.00 at most stores regularly. Notice how Vons/Pavilions sells these for $3.49 regularly? Yeah, I never shop there unless I know the item is on sale because they retail their items for much higher than other grocery stores.

Kashi® 7 Whole Grain Puffs cereal is a pure blend of Seven Whole Grains and Sesame seeds. That’s it. The grains and seeds are steamed at nearly 1000°F for only 15 seconds so the grains retain more of their nutrients, fiber, and individual shapes. During this process the sesame seeds burst, imparting a unique flavor to the cereal. We think you’ll appreciate the distinctive taste and heartier texture of our puffs!

  • 19g Whole Grains*
  • Low Fat
  • 0g Sugar
  • 0mg Sodium

Treat your taste buds to the purest form of whole grains and sesame seeds. Nothing more added, nothing taken out.


Retail: $3.49 @ Vons/Pavilions
My Cost: $1.00 (super on sale)
Calories: 70 per cup
WW: 1

P.S: Get your free sample of Kashi here.

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cereal, WW: 1