Trader Joe’s: Thai Red Curry Sauce

01-23-09_0013I was told I just made the best curry dish my friend has ever had. I had to burst my friend’s bubble and gave out my secret ingredient — Trader Joe’s Thai Red Curry Sauce. It’s really simple to use and it is full of flavor. Authentic, I think not, but this stuff passes with-flying-colors by my standards for good Thai cuisine.  I love the coconut milk in it. It makes the dish extra fragrant and tasty. My Thai Red Curry with Beef and Bell Peppers took me approximately 10 minutes to cook. It took me  longer to cook the rice (well, the rice cooker did all the cooking) than it took to make this dish. Seriously. And it was delicious. Served over a bed of pipping hot steamed rice, dinner tonight was perfection. 1/4 cup of sauce is 80 calories, 2 WW, 6 g of fat, 1 g of fiber, and 1 g of protein. If you are looking for a quick and easy homemade Thai curry meal, I highly suggest this sauce.

Retails: $2.49 at Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $2.49
Calories: 80 calories per 1/4 cup
WW: 2

6 Comments

Filed under Sauce, Trader Joe's, WW: 2

6 responses to “Trader Joe’s: Thai Red Curry Sauce

  1. Mmmmm, coconut milk does wonder!

  2. I have avoided curry for the longest time – I used to work with Indian people in an office that was just below their apartment. The smell of curry was so overwhelming – and they ate with their hands and after eating so much curry dishes, it actually stained their hands!

    I think I just may have to give this one a try. Thanks for the tip!

  3. luckytastebuds

    unfortunately, I just tried the Trader Joe’s Thai green curry simmer sauce and it was a little bit disappointing. We cooked broccoli in this sauce and it didn’t have a strong curry flavor or coconut milk flavor (which I don’t mind), but my boyfriend was QUITE upset and wanted to add more coconut milk to it. He’s a die-hard Thai food fan. :( Maybe the red is better!

  4. oh that sounds quite tasty. you are like a TJ guru

  5. Haha… nah. I just shop there a lot.

  6. i stumbled on your blog and i’m so glad i did! you reviewed all the food i’ve been curious about or absolutely love.
    :D

Leave a comment