Greens+ Superfood Original

IMG_0411Out of the blue I get this pamphlet with a small packet of Green+ Superfood powder along with a whole mess of product information and offer to sign up for their Green+ Heath Club. I was a little wary since I have never heard of this company before.  Naturally, I just cast this aside in my spam mail box to be shredded and recycled later. I’ve been reading the Actor’s Diet and Lynn has been taking this Green+ Superfood in the morning and has some nice words to say about the product. I did not realize it was the same as my sample packet until I dug it up from my spam box. I’m a “word of mouth” kind of girl so I decided to give it a try. The packet contains 1 tsp of finely grounded up green powder with specks of white and orange in it. I mixed it up with 4 ounce of cold water and it dissolved. Does not clump if you give it a good stir. The color turned VERY green; more so than Amazing Grass. The Green+ Superfood powder does not have as strong a “grassy” taste as Amazing Grass does. The “grassy” taste is more subtle and that is probably because the main ingredient in here is not wheat grass. Not particularly tasty, but it might be better in a Green Monster. I felt good after taking it, but I think it might be a placebo effect since it was so green! One thing I noticed was that my digestion for that day seemed to be better, but as far as energy, acuity, and overall wellness, I think I need to take more than 1 sample packet to determine those. This company’s line of products reminds me of Amazing Grass except Amazing Grass has cute packaging and Green+ looks more like your standard supplement packaging. Other products they offer include: Green+ Wild Berry Burst, Green+ Orange Greensicle, Green+ Energy/Protein/Whey Krisp Bars, Whey Protein Green+, Omega Chia Seeds, Fiber Green+ etc.

Citing from the pamphlet, here is what Green+ contains: Soy Lecithin, Hawaiian Spirulina Pacifica, High Pectin Apple Fiber, Barley Grass Powder, Wheat Grass Powder, Japanese Chlorella, Hydroponic Soy Sprouts, Brown Rice Bran, Sprouted Barely Malt, Alfalfa Grass Powder, 6 Dairy-Free Probiotic Cultures, Royal Jelly, Acerola Berry Juice Powder, Natural Vitamin E, Licorice Root Powder & Extract, Red Beet Juice Powder, Dunaliella Salina, Nova Scotia Dulse, Milk Thistle Seed, Echinacea Root, Siberian Eleuthero, Astragalus Root, Ginkgo Biloba, Japanese Green tea, Full Spectrum Grape Extract, and Swedish Bilberry (all in various amounts). Check out their story here. They started up in 1989. Wow, it took me 20 years to find out about you.


Retails: $39.95 per 9.4 oz @ Greens+ Online
My Cost: Free (mini sample)
Calories: 35
WW: 0

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
DKB, Going Away, Metromint,
Zappos & Vitamix

6 Comments

Filed under Drinks, WW: 0

6 responses to “Greens+ Superfood Original

  1. OH MY GOD amazing grass has MORE of a grassy taste?!?! i dunno if i could stomach it!!!

    thanks for the shout out, dear.

  2. Wow, sounds good! Less grassy taste and greener color is EXCELLENT to me!

  3. I love amazing grass personally, but I mix it in a smoothie to make it taste good, and I get the chocolate flavor :) But when I want a plain fruity flavor in my smoothies, I’ll have to check Green+ out!

    Now that you mention it, I find that my digestion IS better with the green stuff!

  4. I have never tried those “green” type products. This one sounds interesting! I like all those healthful ingredients!

  5. hmmm the health benefits are tempting but i don’t know if i could deal with the “green” taste. ick .

  6. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. :) I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a comment