Tasty Bite Tikka Masala Simmer Sauce

IPicture 111 am an Indian food newbie. I’ve only dined at an Indian restaurant once and ordered all the wrong things. I’ve always heard that Tasty Bite makes Indian food cooking at home very easy so I picked up the Tasty Bite Tikka Masala simmer sauce. I have no idea what goes in a Tikka Masala, but I wanted to be adventurous and just “wing” it. In the pot went 1 spray of PAM, 1 red onion, 2 red peppers, all chopped into bit size pieces. Stir fry a little bit and then add 1/2 a pouch of the Tasty Bite Tikka Masala sauce and stir them all together. I also added a pouch of Kashi Fiesta Fiery pilaf into the mix. The veggies bulked up my otherwise dinky meal considerably. The sauce was just enough to coat everything. Split the pot in half and you have yourself an amazing meal. Veggies checked. Whole grains checked. High fiber checked. High protein checked. (Twitpic here) What I like about this simmer sauce is that is has only 45 milligram of sodium which is pretty low considering it is from a pouch. The sauce itself is a tomato based with lots of seasoning such as garlic, cumin, pepper, cloves, etc. Not water thin, but not thick either. The color is a yellowish brown. A little on the bland side with low sodium so next time I will add some garlic and basil in it to bring out some more flavors. What I did not like about it is that it is pretty high in the saturated fat department and it has 20 milligram of cholesterol.  Bummer in an otherwise very convenient sauce.  One serving of 3.5 ounce is 120 calories, 3 WW, 10 grams of fat (4.5 gram saturated), 20 milligram of cholesterol, 45 milligram of sodium, 9 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of fiber, 4 grams of sugar, and 1 gram of protein.

Ingredients
Tomatoes, water, cream, onions, butter, green pepper, sunflower oil, sugar, tapioca starch, chilies, cumin, coriander, clove, cardamon.

Directions
1. Heat 1 Tbs. oil in a med sized skillet. 2. Saute 1-1/2 cups of diced chicken, tofu or vegetables until fully cooked. 3. Add simmer sauce, salt to taste, water to thicken (optional). Stir well. 2.Cover, reduce heat & simmer 8-10 mins, stirring occasionally. 3. Serve over rice and enjoy! Caution: Pouch will be hot. Do not use conventional or toaster oven. Do not consume if pouch is leaking or swollen.


Retails: $1.59 per 7 ounce pouch @ Fresh & Easy
My Cost: $1.59
Calories: 120 per 1/2 pouch
WW: 3

P.S: Check out these amazing giveaways:
Nuttzo, Chobani, Enlyten, Pepper Spray, Zevia, Barney Butter, Vegan Cookbook, Vitatops, Celestial Seasonings & Fiber One

3 Comments

Filed under Fresh & Easy, Sauce

3 responses to “Tasty Bite Tikka Masala Simmer Sauce

  1. I’m an Indian food newbie, too! It always sounds good, but I never know exactly what to order.

    This sounds like an interesting combo of flavors.

  2. I really love that this is lower in sodium than most cooking mixes. Today I picked up a can of soup and it was 72% DRV of sodium.. I almost died!

Leave a comment