Flatout Healthy Grain Multigrain

flatoutFinally got all the ingredients together to make the infamous “crack wrap” that K over at K’s Good Eats always features on her blog. Don’t know why I waited for so long because “crack wraps” are flat out AMAZING. I was so excited that I had to tweet about it ASAP. Check out the twitpic here. The innards consists of Sonny & Joe’s Hummus Gailee, TJ’s Spicy Black bean Dip, slice of TJ’s Swiss cheese, all wrapped in a piece of Flatout multigrain with some Don Sabrosa Roasted Garlic Salsa on top. I had some F&E Grape tomatoes (only 98 cents for 10 oz) on the side as well. With all the ingredients all inside, I folded the wrap and placed it in my Geroge Forman grill for about 5-6 minutes. The cheese, hummus, and dip all melted into  yummy goodness and the wrap was toasted and had a little bit of a crunch. I felt like I was eating a quesadilla. The salsa on top added more flavor, not that it wasn’t flavorful enough already. I was surprised that the cheese melted so well (usually this cheese gives me a hard time), must be the even heat distribution from the grill. Lunch was the best I’ve had in a long time. Must repeat tomorrow.

Okay, so back to the wraps. I first saw Flatout wraps at Super-walmart for about $2.50, but I still had a stash of La Tortilla wraps to finish up so I had to let it past. Later on I noticed that my Costco carries Flatouts for a good price ($6.29 for 3 pk of 6 count each). By then I was ready to restock on wraps so I picked some up. Flatout carries a lot different varieties, but multigrain was the only one Costsco carries so multigrain it is. Other varieties include: Original, Italian Herb, Sun dried tomato, Garden Spinach, Southwest Chipotle, etc. They also carry a light, healthy grains, minis, and kidz line as well. The shape of Flatout is best described as a oblong shape. Think a rectangle with the corners cut off. One wrap is 100 calories, 1 WW, 2.5 grams of fat, no cholesterol, 380 grams of sodium, 17 grams of carbohydrates, 8 grams of dietary fiber, 1 gram of sugar and 9 grams of protein.

The texture of the wrap is thicker than La Tortilla and holds up really well. Since these are thicker, I think they are great for toasting up (ie “crack wraps”, panini wraps, pizza). Very hearty and satisfying. There was so much flavor going on in my wrap that I did not really taste the flavor in the wrap itself. Strongly suggest that everyone try a “crack wrap” ASAP.  You’ll be surprised at how filling the wrap is.

Retails: $6.29 for 3 pk @ Costco
My Cost: $6.29
Calories: 100 each
WW: 1

P.S: Check out this awesome giveaway:
Amazing Grass & Quinn’s Favorite Things

11 Comments

Filed under Tortilla, WW: 1

11 responses to “Flatout Healthy Grain Multigrain

  1. Jenny

    i have been in pursuit of flat outs for quite some time now! definitely checking costco soon :)

  2. lookingforserenity

    I love flat outs! The grocery store by me doesn’t sell them- so I buy lots when I can and freeze them :) haha

  3. julie

    mmm love flatouts :)

    I never got your email with your address! Shoot me an email at juliegolean@gmailDOTcom with it so I can get your crofters prize out to you :)

  4. Glad you got your crack on! I can’t take all the credit for that crackalicious sandwich – technically, Mama LovIn thought of that gem but I’m glad you liked it! They are BUENO :)

    That’s the thing I like about Flat Outs, La Tortillas just don’t get as crispy!

  5. I have read so much about flat outs and have been looking for them. I’ll have to check Costco… Thanks for another great review! :)

  6. i love flatouts! I’ve been able to get them once before and they make for awesome wraps. Only problem is that they are a bit too low in calories and seeing I need a lot of food, doesnt work all that well

  7. i wonder if i can make crack wrap w/o a george foreman or grill? will it still turn out well in a toaster oven do you think??

  8. LOVE flatout wraps :) They sure can hold tons of veggies!

Leave a comment