Whole Foods Black Chia Seeds

IMG_0579I first learned about Chia seeds over at Heather Eats Almond Butter which linked me to Mizfit’s post. I’ve been seeing Chia Seeds popping up in many bloggers posts recently. I know you can get them at chiaseedsdirect with free shipping (US residents only), but I did not want to commit to a 4.5 lbs bag before even try it out so naturally I ventured to Whole Foods to pick some up. I spotted this 8 oz container around the bulk bin section. It was decently priced at $5.99 for 8 oz. Whole Foods also carries the Navitas Natural Chia seeds for $8.99 (8 oz) and the Chia powder for $11.99 (8 oz) so you have more option to choose from. Once in contact with moisture, Chia seeds form this gummy gel around itself, which is good because it means it will expand in your stomach to make you fuller for longer. And if you like thicker oatmeal, do what Heather does and pour 1-2 tbsp into your morning oats to create a omega-3 packed, thick and creamy oat bran. I personally do not think it had much of a flavor itself so it can be added to basically anything. Be sure to check your teeth before you head out after you eat these because they can stick in-between your teeth without you noticing. Heather and Mizfit does a better job at describing all the wonderful benefits of Chia seeds so please do check out their posts. Here is my attempt to list a few:

*Easily digestible and does not need grinding like flaxseeds
*High in omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acid
*High in protein and fiber
*Rich in vitamins and minerals such as iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium etc.
*Gluten-Free

Nutritional Information: One tablespoon (15g) is 80 calories, 1 WW, 5 grams of fat (0.5 saturated), zero cholesterol, zero sodium, 7 grams of carbohydrates, 4 grams of dietary fiber, zero sugar, and 3 grams of protein.


Retails: $5.99 (8 oz) @ Whole Foods
My Cost: $5.99
Calories: 80 per tablespoon
WW: 1

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Zensah, Arnold Sandwich Thin, Favorite Things, & Jeans

16 Comments

Filed under Whole Foods, WW: 1

16 responses to “Whole Foods Black Chia Seeds

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    I have a bunch of chia seeds that I haven’t find good recipes for it! :)

  2. Aw, the name chia seeds always sounds so adorable to me. :)

  3. So glad you found some chia. I eat them everyday either in oats or a smoothie. So good for you, and I love how they fill my belly.

    Thanks for the link, and I hope you have a good weekend!

  4. Great info! I really want to try chia seeds too. I’ll have to look for them at Whole Foods… :)

  5. I’ve yet to try chia seeds but everyone seems to like them! I like that they provide the elusive omegas though :)

  6. Does anyone else hear (in your head) Chi chi chia (from the song) when talking about Chia seeds :-) I’ve been loving some Chia Goodness cereal – had it before I realize that they soak up moisture like nobody’s business! So now I just add it to stuff and it’s fantastic.

  7. Wow, that’s still pretty pricey! Do you happen to know if they sell them in the bulk section?

  8. I just got a buttload of chia seeds and I gotta tell ya, I have no idea what to do with ’em!!

  9. traveleatlove

    I love chia seeds! I haven’t been to Whole Foods in awhile, but its go to know that I can buy them there rather than online.

  10. i just recently started using them and I really do like them!

  11. Haha, I definitely had my fair share of chia seeds in my teeth! This is why I buy the white ones ;) But if Whole Foods carries them, for a great deal, I might have to go with the black and check my teeth often!

  12. I looove my chia seeds that I got. They really amped up my chicken pot pies I made!

  13. Black Chia is the same with white chia. Though Black is cheaper than white the two chia seeds is same in terms of taste and nutrition.

Leave a comment